Sign-Up For Random Reads!

Get exclusive author content, video interviews, podcast episodes, image galleries and more from our books and authors.

Click here to see our full list of newsletters


Romance at Random




Search the RHPG Site





Posts Tagged ‘literary fiction’

Enter for a Chance to win LUCKY US by Amy Bloom

Enter for a Chance to win LUCKY US by Amy Bloom

“Lucky Us is a remarkable accomplishment. One waits a long time for a novel of this scope and dimension, replete with surgically drawn characters, a mix of comedy and tragedy that borders on the miraculous, and sentences that should be in a sentence museum. Amy Bloom is a national treasure.”—Michael Cunningham “My father’s wife died. [...]

Read More

Enter for a chance to win THE RISE & FALL OF GREAT POWERS by Tom Rachman

Enter for a chance to win THE RISE & FALL OF GREAT POWERS by Tom Rachman

For fans of Jennifer Egan, Dave Eggers, and Donna Tartt—the brilliant, intricately woven new novel by Tom Rachman, author of The Imperfectionists, one of the most critically acclaimed fiction debuts in years
Following one of the most critically acclaimed fiction debuts in years, New York Times bestselling author Tom Rachman returns with a brilliant, intricately woven [...]

Read More

Enter for a Chance to Win an Advance Reader’s Edition WAKE by Anna Hope

Enter for a Chance to Win an Advance Reader’s Edition WAKE by Anna Hope

Anna Hope’s brilliant debut unfolds over the course of five days, as three women must deal with the aftershocks of World War I and its impact on the men in their lives.
Wake: 1) Emerge or cause to emerge from sleep. 2) Ritual for the dead. 3) Consequence or aftermath.
London, 1920. The city prepares to observe [...]

Read More

Enter for Your Chance to Win an Advance Copy of CARTWHEEL by Jennifer DuBois

“Cartwheel is so gripping, so fantastically evocative, that I could not, would not, put it down. Jennifer duBois is a writer of thrilling psychological precision. She dares to pause a moment, digging into the mess of crime and accusation, culture and personality, the known and unknown, and coming up with a sensational novel of profound [...]

Read More

Enter for your chance to win an advance copy of & SONS by David Gilbert

Enter for your chance to win an advance copy of & SONS by David Gilbert

“David Gilbert’s & Sons is that novel you’ve been waiting for without knowing you were waiting. Big, brilliant, and terrifically funny, it’s a moving story about fathers and sons and success, a dead-on, deadpan retelling of our American literary myth.”—Jess Walter
A literary masterwork for readers of The Art of Fielding, The Emperor’s Children, and [...]

Read More

Enter for the chance to win an advanced copy of THE HOPE FACTORY by Lavanya Sankaran

Enter for the chance to win an advanced copy of THE HOPE FACTORY by Lavanya Sankaran

With humor, intelligence, and masterly prose, Lavanya Sankaran’s debut novel brilliantly captures the vitality and danger of a newly industrialized city and how it shapes the dreams and aspirations of two very different families.
Anand is a Bangalore success story: successful, well married, rich. At least, that’s how he appears. But if his little factory is [...]

Read More

Enter for your chance to win an advanced copy of THE BURGESS BOYS by Elizabeth Strout

Enter for your chance to win an advanced copy of THE BURGESS BOYS by Elizabeth Strout

Elizabeth Strout “animates the ordinary with an astonishing force,” wrote The New Yorker on the publication of her Pulitzer Prize–winning Olive Kitteridge. The San Francisco Chronicle praised Strout’s “magnificent gift for humanizing characters.” Now the acclaimed author returns with a stunning novel as powerful and moving as any work in contemporary literature.
Haunted by the freak [...]

Read More

Enter for the chance to win an advanced copy of A THOUSAND PARDONS by Jonathan Dee

Enter for the chance to win an advanced copy of A THOUSAND PARDONS by Jonathan Dee

For readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee’s novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness?
Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point. [...]

Read More