A Thousand Pardons

A Thousand Pardons

BUY THE BOOK

Amazon | Barnes & Noble |  Indiebound

BUY THE eBOOK

Kindle | Nook | iBookstore

“Dee shines when unveiling the inner workings of the PR industry.”
Publisher’s Weekly

“A spot-on look at the spin cycle.”
Good Housekeeping

“Meticulously lathed and magnetizing. . . . In this cunning novel of selfishness, despair, and second chances, Dee nets the absurdities of a society geared to communicate in a thousand electronic modes while those closest to each other can barely make eye connect.”
Booklist

“With his sixth novel, Pulitzer finalist Dee has written a page turner without sacrificing a smidgen of psychological insight. What a triumph.”
Kirkus, starred review

“That rare thing: a genuine literary thriller, with a trenchant, hilarious portrait of our collective longing for authenticity.”
—Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad

For readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee’s novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness?

Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point. Ben, a partner in a prestigious law firm, has become unpredictable at work and withdrawn at home—a change that weighs heavily on his wife, Helen, and their preteen daughter, Sara. Then, in one afternoon, Ben’s recklessness takes an alarming turn, and everything the Armsteads have built together unravels, swiftly and spectacularly.

Thrust back into the working world, Helen finds a job in public relations and relocates with Sara from their home in upstate New York to an apartment in Manhattan. There, Helen discovers she has a rare gift, indispensable in the world of image control: She can convince arrogant men to admit their mistakes, spinning crises into second chances. Yet redemption is more easily granted in her professional life than in her personal one.

As she is confronted with the biggest case of her career, the fallout from her marriage, and Sara’s increasingly distant behavior, Helen must face the limits of accountability and her own capacity for forgiveness.

CLICK THE LINK BELOW TO START READING NOW

A Thousand Pardons by Jonathan Dee (an excerpt) by Random House Publishing Group


___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

© Ulf Andersen

Jonathan Dee is the author of four novels, most recently Palladio. He is a staff writer for The New York Times Magazine, a frequent contributor to Harper's, and a former senior editor of The Paris Review. He teaches in the graduate writing programs at Columbia University and the New School.